Why I worship Bastet – a reflection on cats and women!

Women and cats will do as they please, and men and dogs should relax and get used to the idea.”

Robert A. Heinlein

Bastet

(Have you noticed the identical eyes of  both cat and girl?)

A historical note: Bastet (or formerly BaastUbaste, and Baset) was a goddess of  Warfare in the Lower Egypt in the period of the second dynasty  (2890 BC). The name changed later  to Bastet, as we know it today. The deity conceptually evolved  from the Lioness goddess –  a fierce huntress,  warrior and protector (of the Sun God Ra, and “nicknamed” Lady of Flame or the Eye of Ra)- to a cat goddess, after the ferals became domesticated in Egypt, around first millennium BC. Cats were elevated to the rank of God.

So what can we say of a Woman and Cat?

Reflecting on Bastet….

That Woman and Cat entwined they beget

The Book of the Master Plan

Cat icon

That Woman and Cat the One they become

Keep everything in place

The Order of things, the Essence of Being

The Mind of the Universe

Cat icon

Protecting the Home, the Wisdom of Old

The Spirit that guides the Light

The Soft Velvet Paw that will sink its Claw

And rip out your unwary Heart

Cat icon

The Gaze that will mesmerize your Mind

The Purr that will balance your Soul

Irresistible Softness of unearthly Warmth

That will bring  Rebirth to you Whole

Cat icon

The whimsical Grace, the wistful Face

The Reason that talks to Divine

The Wildness untamed, the Cheek unashamed

This fusion is Woman-Feline

Clio

(Clio: I think I’ve asked for Tuna twice already. Am still waiting…. Mad smiley 41.)

  Tuli

(Tuli: Who me? Me do nothing, no mischief….Cross my heart..Innocent smiley 2.)

11 thoughts on “Why I worship Bastet – a reflection on cats and women!

  1. Vickie, my dear friend, accept my respect and admiration. Compliments for beauty and charm as always!

    Like

  2. There’s certainly no denying the cat/woman relationship. Very nice. I sure hope you fed Clio that tuna she was waiting on – it looks like she means business!!!

    Like

  3. Oh, Don of course she got her snack. She always means business. When it comes to Tuna, she’ll walk through concrete walls to get some. 🙂

    Like

  4. I see a lot of my Siamese in this poem, and today when I had to leave the house for a couple of hours and upon returning did not acknowledge his presence, when I passed by the cat stand he reached out and whacked me on the head, then would not let me touch him.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Purrsday Poetry: Why I worship Bastet – a reflection on cats and women! by Vickie Zisman | Katzenworld

Leave a Reply

